Trees

Written 4/21/12

Dating someone is like relocating your trees next to each other.  The closer you are, and the longer you stay together, the more the roots entwine themselves together.  Above your trunks, your branches, like your friends, grow closer.  If you stay there long enough, two branches might even grow together and become one.  This means that the longer and closer and stronger a relationship is, the harder it is to remove that other person and all the memories of him when the relationship inevitably ends.

Bob broke up with me today.  I feel blind-sided, even though I knew our relationship wasn’t perfect. I feel like the task of separating our belongings would be like climbing Mount Everest.  I feel like I no longer have the right to the friends that I’ve kept company with for the past two years.  Thinking about telling my family, who loved him, makes me sick to my stomach.  I feel… lost.

Just today I found a 10 karat gold ring at my parents’ house.  It’s a men’s ring, from several boyfriends past, inscribed with the words “I promise” on the inside.  I didn’t buy the ring.  You see, the other woman got it for him and I happened to find it.  I wanted to sell it for some drinking money but all the gold dealers are closed for the night.  Instead, I think I’ll pin it to my wall as a constant reminder that all men are assholes, and love is a cruel mistress.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

