Sometimes we just feel like writing

The semester has come to a much welcomed close.  I believe I have earned straight As which is good.  This past week was finals, plus I was working a lot, so I’m kind of burnt out.  Next week won’t be any better because my manager is on vacation and she wants me to pick up hours.

I did not get the dispatch job I was trying for.  The letter came in the mail the other day, and I figured I would get that out there before I got more questions about it.  Really, I am okay with this.  I never wanted the job in the first place, and maybe this is a sign that I should be focusing on school.

I did however get a raise at work.  They determined I was grossly underpaid during their recent compensation study.  Go figure, four years of being underpaid.

I will be quitting serving by spring semester because I will be taking Biology, Engineering Graphics, and Calculus III and my schedule does not permit for having two jobs.  I’m excited about taking a chunk of classes again and I can’t wait to go back to school full time.

The good news is that quitting serving will mean I will have Saturday nights off again.  Woah, does that mean I can have a social life?  I’m really looking forward to it.  I know that most of my friends have been slowing down and going out less, but that doesn’t mean I can’t hit the bar scene Saturday nights again.  Having a partial weekend off means that I’ll be able to visit people who no longer live nearby including Brian and Lauren.  THAT I am really excited about.

Occasionally I get disheartened by the fact that I have about 6 semesters left for school.  I see the people I went to high school with established in their professional lives, and I can’t help but feel like I missed the bus.  I missed the bus in both directions.  These past 4 years I wasn’t partying and having a good time, but I wasn’t moving towards a grown up life either.  Can I go back and have do-overs?  Can I go back and have my generous scholarship?  Can I go back and invest time where I should have invested it?  In the right friendships and the right goals?

Nothing like coffee and regret to start off your Saturday morning.

 

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

