Old Apartment, Florida, New Apartment

Just a quick general update.

I no longer love the place where I’m living.  Having a landlord who fixes absolutely nothing takes a toll on you.  Before I left on vacation a pipe broke in my kitchen.  My landlord rushed over, but 20 minutes was enough time for the kitchen to flood, and then all the water to rush down into the basement and flood there as well.  None of my things were damaged really, but the apartment was a wreck.  Water even got inside my furnace, breaking my air conditioning.  Instead of cleaning this whole mess like his duty, the landlord left my dad and I with a wet vac.  He also did not tear down any of the now soaked drywall or replace anything in the apartment, so now a couple months later, the whole place smells like mildew.  The air conditioner is still broken, which I have really appreciated in this 90 degree weather.

My trip to Florida was amazing and relaxing and everything I needed.  The first half of the trip we stayed at the Waldorf Astoria Boca Raton Resort.  The beach club was amazing.  We were able to take the water shuttle to their private beach, where they also had 3 pools.  The atmosphere in the hotel was a little stuffy with an “old money” feel, but overall everything was very nice.  The second half of the trip we stayed at the Hyatt Pier 66 hotel at Fort Lauderdale.  I thought the hotel was a better fit for us, we had a lush room with a balcony that had an amazing view.  Generally I wasn’t too crazy about Fort Lauderdale itself though.  I found it too be too touristy.

Some noteworthy restaurants- Whale’s Rib in Deerfield Beach, Fl; City Fish in Boca Raton; Yokohama Sushi in Boca Raton

Since I hate my apartment now, I decided not to sign a new lease.  I will be moving in with Miss Cady!  I’m pretty excited.  The unit is a 2 bedroom 2 bath in the town that I work in.  I think it’s going to be the perfect place to make us feel like we have a home.  The apartment is really huge, and I really like the way we are planning on furnishing it.  We get the keys September 10th, but I think my big move will be September 18th.

That’s about it for my little update!  I’m still working at going to school.  I’m taking History of Civilization and Speech 101 this semester.  Oh!  And my GPA is a 3.82!  I’m hoping to get it to go even higher this semester by getting As in both my classes.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

