Caffeine and Aspirations

I’m about three-quarters of the way through my Starbucks Doubleshot Mocha, which is about the same time that I start to feel like I can conquer the world.  Actually, I always can conquer the world, I just know it when I consume too much caffeine.  When I am over-caffeinated I tend to think about my future and goals.  I want to have a meeting with a school counselor RIGHT NOW.  I want to write a book, sew a new dress, leap forward a year in time.  Let’s go for a walk, let’s go make a difference in our communities, let’s set up a new financial plan that will maximize our savings.

Clearly, I rarely consume more caffeine than what is in your average can of soda pop.

I know I haven’t been writing lately.  The new job at Rock Bottom is keeping me busy.  I work 5(ish) days a week there and between working at the PD and there and school and school and school, it’s just been a bit much lately.  The semester is almost over so that means two things.  First, I’ll be relaxing soon.  Second, these next three weeks will be academic hell as I try to finish everything up.

I’m still trying for a new desk job that will pay me well for full-time employment.  My sister is trying to help me by looking into open positions at Devry.  I still check local villages on an almost daily basis for open positions.  I have started attending the meetings for the DuPage county ticket transmittal system to try to network.  Next week I am also attending a luncheon for the Association of Chiefs, where my bosses will most likely sing praises about me.

Recently I had the pleasure of befriending a civil engineer through work.  My current career plan is to obtain my bachelors in civil engineering and then a masters in environmental engineering.  We talked about the different career paths people at his work took and how some did follow that exact schooling path.  It made me optimistic and excited about my future.  My future now relies solely on my finances, which is a discouraging thought.

Happy Easter to everyone.  I’ll try to write more frequently.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in School / Career. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

