Wrong Move Pal

Sometimes, well, most of the time I seem to make the wrong decision.  Yesterday I was on call to work at Rock Bottom.  They didn’t need me, so I took my one weekday off this week to drive to the city to take a test to be put on an eligibility list for a state records position.

My first mistake was that I drove, the second mistake is that I parked in the wrong parking garage, so I ended up paying $23.  Being the careless person I am, I did not make a mental note of which floor of the garage I parked, and on the way through the garage to find my car, I somehow lost the receipt showing that I had already paid the $23 for parking.

I took a wrong turn out of the parking garage, and got myself completely turned around.  No worries!  I have a GPS for this!  A really crappy GPS which kindly refused to pick up a signal.  After driving around hoping to recognize something, I finally found my way back to I-90/I-94.  I knew my way from there.

Luckily the test itself went well.  The three people in front of me were not put on the eligible list, but I made it on the list for two of the positions I tested for.  Unfortunately with budget cuts, I don’t anticipate a position opening up any time soon, but I have my fingers crossed.

In order to go take this test, I gave up an opportunity to go to a meeting on the computer system that I use at work.  I’m the only one who uses the system, but the records manager wanted to go and she asked me to attend with her.  Deciding not to go was not a big deal, or shouldn’t have been because I’ve never gone in the past.  The records manager told me today that several of the women who work with the system on the opposite end from me are retiring.  I’m kicking myself for missing the opportunity to shake some hands and get people to know my name, but you can bet I am watching the job opportunities website like a hawk for the next 6 months.  I receive constant praise from my managers for teaching myself the new system, so I figure that has to count for something.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

