Job News

Today while I was in the shower, my phone rang.  I saw the first 6 digits of the phone number while I glanced out from behind the shower curtain.  I recognized it immediately as the same 6 digits of the restaurant which I had my second interview at on Friday.  I had to make a decision, get out of the shower and answer it, or wait for a voicemail.  I always like to answer calls like this right away since I hate playing phone tag, but I decided that it was a bad idea to get out of the shower.

So half an hour later, I sat down and returned the general manager’s call.  He offered me a waitress position, which I gladly accepted.  I start orientation on Friday, but I won’t be leaving Tap House for about two weeks.

Having this phone call come only days after I had reached a new level of frustration at Tap House on Sunday is a huge relief.  I was furious Sunday, and the fact I didn’t make any money was only icing on the cake.  I was able to stay at Tap House despite slow days for so long because I love most of the people who work there.  I was able to work 7 days a week because Tap House was a good social outlet for me.  Unfortunately, there has been a shift in attitude there, and I haven’t been happy for a long time.  So, it was time to move on and that is what I’m doing.

I really hope I like it at the new restaurant, and I hope I make lots of money so I don’t have to work 7 days a week.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in Restaurants, School / Career. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

