Wisconsin Dells

Yesterday I returned home from Wisconsin Dells.  Overall, I had a really good time.  I wish my camera wasn’t broken because I don’t have any pictures put together of the trip.  I might be able to scrap something together from other cameras.  We stayed at The Wilderness Resort Monday and Tuesday night.  Monday was mostly filled with the water park, but we did go to Monk’s Bar for dinner and drinks.  We ordered monkey fries and cheese curds to get in our necessary dairy for the trip.  The monkey fries were served with an interesting spicy ranch, too spicy for me, but everyone else loved it.

The next day while Brian and Steph were relaxing, Ajay, Alyssa, Bob and I decided to go to breakfast.  I asked the check in desk for a recommendation, and the woman said “there’s an IHOP if you…” I must have been giving her a look that clearly said “I’m not interested in IHOP” because she quickly sent me over to speak with a gentleman named “Chief.”  Chief told me about a place he calls “the greasy spoon” with great, inexpensive breakfast.  “The name is Denny’s,” he said, “But it’s not the Denny’s you are thinking of.  Once we walked in and saw the 1950s/pop culture/awesome decor, I realized I had been to this Denny’s before!  When I was about 10 years old, my family and I went to the Wisconsin Dells and stopped to eat there.  Overall it was a great experience, and a place everyone should check out.

More water park came that night, and then Brian, Steph, Bob and I went to Moose Jaw Pizza and Dells Brewing Company.  The service was good, and I liked both appetizers that we ordered.  The beer bread was made with their Dells Pilsner and the butter was made with their honey ale.  While the food and service was good, I was disappointed by about 70% of their beers I tried, and I tried about 8 or 9 of them.  None of their beers were worth buying a growler of, and while I wouldn’t go out of my way to visit Moose Jaw again, it wouldn’t be bad to stop there for lunch and have their Honey Nut Brown Ale or the Pumpkin Spice Ale.

The next day the four of us left had to check out by 11 am, so I hauled everyone to do one last touristy thing before we left the Dells.  I am a sucker for the old timey photos.  I love dress up, what can I say.  So we took a fun picture in front of the saloon background.  I don’t think Brian and Bob were having a good time, but Steph and I were loving it.  I can’t remember what the exact name of the studio but I think it’s something like “the original antique photo studio” and I know it is 2 doors down from Old Abe’s Photo Studio (at 217 Broadway).  The lady working was very fun and nice.

On our way home we stopped at Ale Asylum for a beer and a quick snack.  The garlic cheese sticks and broccoli cheese soup I had were delicious.  I ordered their Hopalicious which I enjoyed much more than any beer at Moose Jaw.  The bartender was polite and nice, and seemed a bit like super woman with everything she was preparing.

The rest of the ride home was uneventful.  I arrived exhausted, but happy.  The best parts of the trip were the hurricane ride, Denny’s, and taking the antique photos.  The worst part was the mass amounts of money I spent.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in Restaurants, Uncategorized, Wisconsin Dells. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

