Unimportant Decisions

There have been some seemingly petty decisions have shaped the overall path of my social life.  Well I guess the only real decision was what extra curricular I chose to participate in when I started high school.  When I was in eighth grade (the good old Henry Puffer), I was involved in volley ball, cheerleading (and co-ed cheerleading), concert band, and yearbook staff. 

Then came high school.  My close friend Stephanie wanted me to try out for the volley ball team, but I gave up on trying to get a good overhand serve pretty quickly.  I didn’t really care about year book staff, and I was quite the under-achiever in high school, so that extra curricular also faded away.

I was left with the decision, should I try out for the cheerleading team with my neighbor, Kelly, or should I become a band geek.  I’m a moderately impressionable person, so when my sister insisted that all cheerleaders were sluts and that the color guard was stupid, I took it to heart.  I didn’t want to be a slut!  And I certainly didn’t want to be stupid.  So I became a marching clarinet of the Trojan Band from DGN.

In the first couple weeks of school, a new friend of mine convinced me to go check out all the new clubs.  I remember sitting in the auditorium when Mr. Waite and CSD99 (the TV club essentially) presented.  Hey, I could make movies, I could be on TV.  That could be fun.  After going to the first meeting, I sealed my fate.  In the beginning, I was one of 2 girls in a group of nerdy guys.

I often think about how different my life would be if I had not listened to my sister before high school.  When I reminisce about high school, I think about hiding skittles in our marching band uniforms, getting drunk for the first time in a hotel room in New York Jersey, smashing a pie in a guy’s face on video, broadcasting Lobster Patrol with Dre from studio B, the list goes on.  I think about the fact that being in band has given me life long friends, friends I can’t imagine not having.

If given the chance, I wouldn’t change the decisions I made in those early high school days.   I don’t really mind being a dork anyways.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

