A’s and Engineering

The other day I looked up my final grades for this semester.  I earned an A in both Intro to Mass Media and Video Production.  I know I deserved it in Video Production, but I wasn’t very serious about Intro to Mass Media, so I rarely went to class.  I compensated for this by participating when I was in class, sending my professor relevent articles and ads.  If a professor remembers your name and knows you better than most of your classmates, he or she is going to feel guilty about not giving you the A when there’s a doubt about your attendance.  At least that’s what I think.

Next semester I am taking two online classes, Sociology and Film Study.  They will knock out two general education credits I need.  I want to also take an Econ class online, but they only offer one and it’s already full.  I’ll try to watch on the drop dates (for non-payment) and hopefully I can get into it, but I already emailed the teacher and she had no interest in taking on an additional student.  Maybe it’s a sign I should not take the class with her.

I’ve been thinking a lot about school lately.  I’m thinking about if I really want to continue with a major in video production/ broadcasting (Gasp!).  Thinking about if I really want to play that near-starving artist role, work for shit pay for ungrateful producers and directors until I can work my way to the top.  Thinking about the fact that I already have 1.5 years towards an engineering degree.  I can’t deny it, I really am a science nerd.  My favorite magazine is Discover.  My brain likes learning, it likes data.  I really like video production, but crunching numbers and calculating is far easier for me than trying to explain to an actor what I need him to do in this scene.  When I like the way a project turns out (which I rarely do) it’s an incredibly rewarding experience, but it is hard work for me.

So I have a lot to think about, and I’m not going to make the decision before the end of spring semester.  About a year ago I thought about changing what my career goals were because of this neurologist told me I shouldn’t sell myself short and that I should aim for an engineering degree again.  If I keep going back to thinking about engineering, maybe it is the right choice for me.  I just wish I could cut back down to working one job so that I can go to school full-time.  I don’t want to complete my degree 5+ years from now.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in School / Career. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

