Last Day of School

Today was the last day of classes before finals and you could feel it in the air.  I ran into my dad (who works at the school) when I was leaving campus.  He was with a few of his student workers.  Everyone was chipper, maybe it was the end of the semester drawing near, or maybe it was the great weather we had today.

While this is my first semester at Joliet Junior College (and my first semester back after a couple of years off of school), most of the people I went to high school with are graduating this semester if they did not graduate last semester.  I could have been one of them, if I kept up with my engineering degree from Elmhurst College.  While life would have been a lot easier if it had gone that way, I don’t think I would be even close to the same person.

My feelings about this past semester are mixed.  I don’t really feel that either class I took benefited me in a great way; one of them didn’t even count towards my degree (all the video production and related classes I am interested in do not count, even as electives).  Wednesday in my video production class one of my classmates approached me and asked me for help instead of the teacher.  This made me realize that I am not the only one who thinks the professor is underqualified for the position.  His skills pale in comparison to my high school video production teacher’s skills.  I didn’t learn anything new this semester in that class. 

The good news is that I don’t think it was a complete waste of time to enroll in these two classes.  This sparked my interest to pursue obtaining my associates degree.  It’s a long way off yet, but I think it will be good for me.  Maybe good for my career, but mostly good to make me feel like less of a failure.

Not that I really feel like a failure or anything.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

