How to Sell Yourself for a Job

Most people know that I applied for a position as host of The Radio Shopping Show with WBIG AM.  My only experience with radio was in high school.  That was over 4 years ago.  This position was clearly going to be low paying and at a very small studio.  All this did not stop me from applying, however, because I knew I could be great at this job and I will never turn down an opportunity to put something great on my resume.  Of two-hundred applicants, I was one of 15 that received an interview.

I found out today that the position was offered to someone else, but that I was one of the top contenders for the position, and that the station will be keeping my resume on file for future openings.

After the disappointment wore off, I started thinking, “How did I, with very little formal broadcasting education, get to be a top contender for this position?”  The answer was simple, I know how to sell myself.  I have always been able to exude the “wow” factor on interviews, but often times it has been hard for me to get to the interview step when it comes to jobs that I know I am qualified for, because my job history may say I am not qualified.  It is easy to slather on the *charm* when you are in front of someone.  It is much harder to do this through a cover letter and a resume.

This host position was the first one where I sat down before responding to the ad and asked myself “Would I be good at this job?”  Naturally, the answer was a fierce, “YES!”  So I put all that passion I felt into explaining to that email address why they wanted me as that host.  I didn’t just want a job, I really wanted that job.

Unfortunately, things did not work out the way I had hoped.  Where do I plan on going from here?  In the email written to me informing me that they offered the position to another applicant, he said, “We really like you and your background, and we would like to keep you in mind for future openings.  This is radio, and availabilities do pop up more often than not.”  So I’m not giving up.  I’ll continue applying for positions in broadcasting and video production.  In fact just now I applied for an assistant to producer position, and you can be sure that I sold myself.  I will get to where I want to go, I will get to the top, and I don’t mind if I have to fight to get myself there.

About michelletherobot

I'm a little bit emotional and a lot a bit strange. In 30 years I'll be a crazy cat lady, but for now I'm a twenty-two year old going to school, working two jobs, and trying to get to a better place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Sell Yourself for a Job

  1. Kathy Howe says:

    I am sorry you didi not get it but I am a firm believer in everything happens for a reason. Every interview gives you info for the next one.

    I am glad classes are over and I wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas. we will get together when it is not so hectic. I came home from Ohio with a sinus thing and year end at work is a killer.

    Wish I could celebrate your birhtday…but you have not seen me in a bathing suit..scary do not want to scare the young ones ha ha. We will celebreat when you get back.

    Love you,
    kathy

Leave a Reply

